In 2017, the Government of Alberta invested $249 million to renew the Dentistry/Pharmacy Centre. The building was renamed as the University Commons in Fall 2021 and is anticipated to open in early 2024.
The building tour was guided by Andrew Sharman, University of Alberta vice-president (facilities and operations), Lara McClelland, U of A associate vice-president (integrated planning, development, and partnerships), and Kent Love, U of A manager of capital projects.
The tour showcased the renewal project including the restoration of the original reading room, and other components of careful restoration and duplication of original marble and terrazzo flooring.
The over 400,000 square foot building has been revitalized as a purposefully-designed space for the U of A community and is currently the largest capital project at the university.
The building was opened in 1921, and at the time, named the U of A Medical Building. The project retains the original 1921 south-facing portion of the building, while the remaining portions have been demolished and rebuilt.
As part of U of A Days, public tours of the building will be offered starting September 22.