NewsStudents' UnionUncategorized

Students’ Council by-election results

All races within the by-election were uncontested

After an uncontested by-election, five new councillors were elected to Students’ Council and three new General Faculties Council members.

The fall by-election, run by the Students’ Union, fills vacancies in seats for both General Faculties Council (GFC), the highest academic decision-making body at the University of Alberta, and Students’ Council, the body charged with oversight of the SU.

This year, the by-election ran from October 2 to October 3. All candidates who ran in the by-election were unopposed.

The candidates who were elected to Students’ Council were officially sworn in on October 8.

Newly elected GFC representatives

The newly elected representatives for GFC include:

BUSINESS: Alana Krahn



Students’ Council receives five new councillors

With the new representatives, the number of vacancies on Students’ Council decreased from 11 to seven.

The new elected representatives for Students’ Council include:

ALES: Dave Konrad

ENGINEERING: Andrew Batycki


NURSING: Anthony Nguyen

OPEN STUDIES: Charles Blondin

Adam Lachacz

Adam Lachacz is the Editor-in-Chief of The Gateway for 2020-21. Previously, he was the 2019-20 News Editor, 2018-19 Staff Reporter, and a senior volunteer contributor from 2016-18. He is a fourth-year student studying history and political science. Adam is addicted to the news, an aspiring sneakerhead, and loves a good cup of black coffee.

Related Articles

Back to top button